Basic JavaScript - Replace Loops using Recursion

I’m new to coding in general. I’ve done the html/css course and understood it somewhat. I’m stuck on the Recursion problem. I know what the answer is because I looked it up. Here’s the instructions and The answer:

//Instructions
Write a recursive function, sum(arr, n) , that returns the sum of the first n elements of an array arr .

//answer

function sum(arr, n) {
  // Only change code below this line
 if(n <= 0) {
    return 0;
  } else {
    return sum(arr, n - 1) + arr[n - 1];
  }
  // Only change code above this line
}

Why this is the answer I have no clue. I feel like a complete idiot. I surely can’t be that stupid. I was able to graduate college but I guess I am. This makes no sense…any of it. Could someone break this down for me in laymen’s terms. The instructions are in English but to me, it often feels like I’m trying to read Icelandic or something. Very discouraging

Don’t be frustrated too much, please. Recursion is tricky as hell.
Let’s grab this code you provided:

function sum(arr, n) {
// Only change code below this line
  if(n <= 0) {
    return 0;
  } else {
      return sum(arr, n - 1) + arr[n - 1];
    }
// Only change code above this line
}

Lets say if we have array [1, 2, 3, 4] and number 3.

So try to explain step by step, what will happen inside the code, if I call this function with this input:

sum([1, 2, 3, 4], 3)

As soon as you’ll stuck, try to provide question, as specific as it can be, and give it to me.

Also, consider add link to the challenge step to your post, it will be easier for people to help you

My apologies. I’m new here.

Are you saying use the array equation with the number 3? I’m not following. Thanks for helping though