Better to have one solid project or many simple ones?

I have an opinion on this topic but I want to hear other people’s thoughts on this. Especially if you happen to be in a position where you review candidates for a job.

Edit

I just want to preface this so there’s less confusion. This whole spiel applies to people who have completed dozens of projects along their self-taught journey. At some point you have built up the skills necessary to be considered “job ready” but you haven’t built anything to tie all those skills together in one place.

I’m not saying people shouldn’t build a plethora little projects. That’s part of learning!

I’m saying once you’re tired of feeling more than capable of work but you’re not getting any calls back or interviews, focus your efforts on making a fully polished app or website or whatever makes sense for the jobs you’re applying for.

End edit

I don’t necessarily believe there’s anything wrong with having a lot of simple projects on your portfolio. The more things you build, generally speaking the more skills you’ll learn.

However in my experience people who are skimming resumes including myself, really just want a link to the one project you’re most proud of.

I’m certainly impressed when I visit a portfolio site and see lots of projects but without clear direction to which project I should be paying attention to I’m also overwhelmed.

I feel strongly that new developers who are struggling to get that first job because of lacking work experience need to have one project in their portfolio that covers enough skills to show off they are job ready.

It’s not only beneficial to them as it would require going deeper into there skill sets, but also make it easier on employers/hiring managers because they don’t have to go sifting through a dozen apps to see their full skill set demonstrated.