Cafe Menu possible bug

To anyone kind enough to read this post, hello :slight_smile: .

I seem to have found a problem with the Cafe Menu CSS. The .flavor and .price selectors are set to a width: 75%; and 25%; respectivly, and appear to spread them out correctly in the tutorial. However when I copy the html and CSS code into a text editor it apears differently. I’m very new to this so my question is why?

EDIT: when i change the width values to 49% for both as the tutorial first suggests the menu item and price display as intended. but not when i revert back to the 75% and 25% as the tutorial goes on to instruct.

Edit 2: When i set the width to 75% and 24% it also displays correctly, however making the window narrow the two 49% width values produce the best results and the 75% and 24% width values stack on top of each other awkwardly.

It is hard to answer without seeing the code you used.

i used the exact code from the finished cafe menu tutorial. i just copy and paste it

Which step did you copy from?

Once i finished the final step of the cafe menu i copied all the html and css.

I think you didn’t copy the code correctly because I just tried it and it worked perfectly for me.
Please share the code you are using.

1 Like

the CSS:

body {
  background-image: url(https://cdn.freecodecamp.org/curriculum/css-cafe/beans.jpg);
  font-family: sans-serif;
  padding: 20px;
}

h1 {
  font-size: 40px;
  margin-top: 0;
  margin-bottom: 15px;
}

h2 {
  font-size: 30px;
}

.established {
  font-style: italic;
}

h1, h2, p {
  text-align: center;
}

.menu {
  width: 80%;
  background-color: burlywood;
  margin-left: auto;
  margin-right: auto;
  padding: 20px;
  max-width: 500px;
}

img {
  display: block;
  margin-left: auto;
  margin-right: auto;
  margin-top: -25px;
}

hr {
  height: 2px;
  background-color: brown;
  border-color: brown;
}

.bottom-line {
  margin-top: 25px;
}

h1, h2 {
  font-family: Impact, serif;
}

.item p {
  display: inline-block;