Can't figure out repl.it boilerplate-arithmetic-formatter

I’m new to Python, and forking, and repl.it. I’m trying to just get started with the first project, which is called the “arithmetic formatter”… But I can’t even seem to get “Hello World” to work? Actually, if I start fresh and don’t make any changes at all, when I click run I get traceback error. How do I start using this IDE?

Here is the link: https://repl.it/@pj789/boilerplate-arithmetic-formatter-8#main.py

Here is my error: python main.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “main.py”, line 6, in
print(arithmetic_arranger([“32 + 698”, “3801 - 2”, “45 + 43”, “123 + 49”]))
File “/home/runner/boilerplate-arithmetic-formatter-8/arithmetic_arranger.py”, line 4, in arithmetic_arranger
return arranged_problems
NameError: name ‘arranged_problems’ is not defined

Please help a newbie out?
-James

No worries, you found the place to get started :slight_smile:

First of all, this repl is made for this problem only, so every code you write there will be tested and evaluated against the desired outcome of this problem (if you look at the test_module.py you can see what is tested). So it’s no wonder ‘Hello World’ does not what you want it to do.

If you are new to Python, maybe you can look into some lessons of the curriculum to get the hang of it and try some things in a text editor (Sublime, Atom, …)(like you maybe have done with other languages?)
Next to basics, for the assignements in this part of Python understanding defining functions is crucial too.

Good luck!