Collage degree vs skill

Hey… My name is Lakshay I am 19 years old. it’s about four months since I learn to program personally I loved it.
I want to ask that is learned to program through any collages is better or learn through the internet/self though. Is a college degree is really important to start a carrier in web designing or skill is important.

Hi @lakshay0sharma!

Whether you go to college or not you do have to be able to demonstrate some level of skill abilities for the job. It’s either college and skill or self-taught and skill.

I think you can learn web development or design being self taught. But I don’t think there is anything wrong with the college route if that is an option. You will probably still do some self study in addition to college classes.

A college degree will make it easier to get interviews.

From a recruiting perspective, there are always far more applicants than positions and it’s not practical or time efficient to carefully review every single one (try carefully reading 100 one-to-two-page documents and see how much time is left over in your week - don’t forget you still have to actually interview a few of them - oh and get your other work done :wink: )

A college degree helps you pass that initial filter/screening process.

That said, once you have the interview, the degree itself matters very little. Some managers will care, but in my experience it really doesn’t help beyond getting the interview.

The biggest hurdle/difference in being self-taught vs bootcamp vs university (assuming you’ve learned what you need to learn) is getting those interviews.

So, my advice if you decide not to go to school - Make a game plan on how you’ll land interviews, and start applying early.