Concerned about the security of my form

Hi there!

So I wanted to create a working form for my first solo project and the coding portion doesn’t seem to bad.

I found a nice article that walked me through creating a form with php.

But I am concerned about the security aspect of it.

I am still a beginner so I don’t know how to make my form completely secure against possible attacks.

Should I just go ahead and add my custom form to the site or just use a premade form?

Thanks!

Unfortunately there’s not a way to make something on the web “completely” secure.
Security is an ever evolving field, so there’s no real solution to cover all cases.

However in this case I would say that as long as you apply the “general” rules you’ will be fine:

• sanitizing inputs
  • never store/transmit plain sensitive data
  • don’t accept code into your system that anyone can submit.

And if you want to go a step further limit the times one can send data in a period of time (like captcha.

1 Like

One of the first mistakes that comes to mind is relying on the client-side (the HTML+JS) to act as “security”. Anything on the client-side can be assumed to be compromised, so the back-end needs to re-check anything that is sent to it.

Your welcome to add extra validation to the client-side, so the user sees validation errors before sending it. But the back-end will always need to recheck as in-case the client is an “evil person” who removed all the validation in the first place.

Another thing to think about is due to the nature of security being everywhere, I usually recommend to focus on the bigger issues first, and focus on mitigating them. So something like preventing code injection is probably more important than protecting against DDOS attacks. Focusing on perfection isn’t the goal, just mitigation as much as possible so it makes it hard to hack/spam/ddos you.