Counting documents with Mongoose

Counting documents with Mongoose

Hey everyone, I am working on the URL shortener backend project and have decided to use mongoose to work with mongo db. I am new to mongoose, and I am having issues with a simple count of the documents which are already in my ‘urls’ collection (currently there are 2). Here is my code, the function below takes a string which is the req.params.url string:

const Url = require('../models/url');

var urlShortener = function(str){
  var patt = /^https?:\/\/[\w./]+/gi;
  var count;
  if(patt.test(str)){
    Url.find().exec(function(err, data){
      count = data.length;
    });
  return {num: count, url: str};
  }
}

module.exports = urlShortener;

Whenever I res.json the object which this function returns, the num field is blank and never shows a count of the objects currently in the database. Any ideas?

Database queries are asynchronous so your return statement works before the content of exec function is executed.

Ah, of course. Thank you! I have tried moving the return statement to within the call back, tried using the .then() keyword, removing .exec, and a lot of other things, but I am still having issues getting this code to return anything now. Any suggestions?

So I got the code to work, but it only works in the routes file itself. I want to keep the logic separate and I don’t want my routes file to have a lot of logic in it. How do I do that a return the appropriate data while requiring another file in the routes file (in this case urlshortener.js)? Here is the code:

urlshortener.js(where I want my logic):
var Url = require(’…/models/url’);

var urlShortener = function(str){
  var res_obj = {};
  var c;
  if(patt.test(str)){
Url.find({}).exec(function(err, urls){
  if(err){
    return err;
  }
  return urls;  **//this doesn't work**
});
  }
}

module.exports = urlShortener;

Here is my routes file (I don’t want to have to put logic in here):

var express = require('express');