Create a Variable for an Imported JSON File

Hey folks, I’m building out some basic vanilla js projects (randomized background color changer) and I figured out the code to accomplish that with an array variable INSIDE of my javascript file.

I wanted to take it a step further and implement this from a much larger data set. I found a JSON file online with 1000+ colors. This is my first time using a JSON file. I have it uploaded in the same directory as my other index.html, css, and js files. The data in the file looks like this:

[
    {
      "name": "Absolute Zero",
      "hex": "#0048BA"
    },
    {
      "name": "Acid Green",
      "hex": "#B0BF1A"
    },

I then found a tutorial about importing JSON files into a javascript file. This is the code I found:

fetch ("./colors.json")
    .then(function(resp) {
        return resp.json();
    })
    .then(function(colorsArr) {
        console.log(colorsArr);
    });

While this does successfully log the array…I can’t figure out how to get this content into a GLOBAL variable so I can access its data in functions and event listeners.

I tried the following:

let globalColorsArr = fetch ("./colors.json")
    .then(function(resp) {
        return resp.json();
    })
        console.log(colorsArr);
    });
console.log(globalColorsArr);

But it says that it’s a Promise Pending…I know promises are a more advanced subject within JS, and I do intend on learning about that, but for now, I would just like to be able to access the colors array. Does anyone see a quick solution to this?

This is something that is best explained through a lesson (example the one here in FCC), and then learned through practice. Asynchronous programming and promises can be a lot to process.

But to solve your current issue, you merely have to understand what is happening.