Drum Machine code/UI feedback

Hello all, this is my first time posting a project here. Here is the link to my drum machine, which was created using React & vanilla CSS:
My Drum Machine Project - Webpage
My Drum Machine Project - Github repository
*edited to add my new GitHub links instead of Codepen, because I finally figured out how to get my React project onto Github and deploy it on Github Pages.

I avoided looking at the sample or other people’s drum machine code until I got mine to function, just so I could hash things through my own research. I was pretty happy to get it working!

Now that I’ve looked at some other people’s code I can see how my solution is a bit inelegant in that I am repeating HTML for each button. Not to mention, I didn’t use an HTML element for the audio, so it doesn’t pass three of the tests.

On my next loop, I want to:

• Rewrite the React section to be less redundant
  • Pass the remaining tests
  • Change the button appearance on click / keypress
  • Implement volume control

I would appreciate any feedback or suggestions on my code or UI so far! :slight_smile: Thank you!

3 Likes

I usually don’t comment on styling choices, especially since I’m not very artistically inclined, but I want to give you a shout out for taking the extra time to make this look nice. I wish I could have made my drum machine look as slick.

And now for a few suggestions:

• At the default font size it is responsive to changes in view port width but I am getting a horizontal scroll bar just a little before I hit the break point as I’m narrowing my browser. Not a game changer but I think since you have obviously tried to make this responsive that you should try to eliminate that unnecessary scroll bar.