ES6 freeCodeCamp course difficulties

Hi,

I just started with JavaScript course on freeCodeCamp and I would like to report some problems I encountered. Now I am relatively new to programing (have basic knowledge on Java and Python), I have finished HTML/CSS challenges and passed Basic JavaScript section in JavaScript.

When I started with ES6 section first i encountered inline functions which are not explained, but which I understood eventually, then on lesson ES6: Write Higher Order Arrow Functions I encountered map() , filter() , and reduce() functions which were not explained and I have to admit I cheated on that one. I hope that later lessons will be better explained. Just wanted to share my problems with this section which could be better explained or put on the end of the section (i don’t know what is ahead).

2 Likes

Let me tell you I had a lot of problems with that section too. What I can tell you is: continue as you can and try to check other resources, like reading “You Don’t Know JS” which is free and online in Github.

I tried studying by myself Python in a Udemy course and when I came back to that section I understood better. I suggest you keep studying and eventually you’ll understand, don’t give up!

1 Like

Thanks for the support.

Have you checked out MDN’s documentation on these higher order functions? (The one I linked is on map(), but you can quite easily find the documentation for the rest by typing ‘mdn javascript [insert function name of your choice]’)

I go to MDN at least once every time I code in Javascript; very handy and comprehensive :smiley:
And don’t be intimidated by the documentation if you didn’t totally understand the description straight away; scroll down and you’ll see it’s usually very rich in examples.

MDN is by far the best documentation imho. Easy on the eyes and informative.

1 Like

Great, thank you very much for all your help