ES6 notation doubts

Currently I am doing this particular challenge : https://learn.freecodecamp.org/javascript-algorithms-and-data-structures/es6/write-concise-declarative-functions-with-es6

I am new to JS and all the new things I am learning are really interesting, but a bit overwhelming at the same time, especially all the different ways to make you code smaller and neater.

I have a doubt with this block of ES6 code, which was suggested to the students to use:

const person = {
  name: "Taylor",
  sayHello() {
    return `Hello! My name is ${this.name}.`;
  }
};

My question : can a function(or anything) exist inside an object if it is not assigned to a key/property? It certainly seems the case here. Also can I use this instead (getting a bit confusing remembering all the new stuff) :

const person = {
  sayHello : () => `Hello! My name is ${this.name}.`;
};

Any difference/ negatives to using this approach? it would be easier for me to remember, at least for the time being.

PS : One last question. In function expressions e.g. const x = () => {//body};
is x actually a variable/constant (depending upon the keyword ofc) that holds the function inside it, or is it the name of the function written in a more concise way?

You are doing same things.The first with ES5, and second with ES6. The only difference is in the second example. ‘this’ is undefined and you can change it with the current object - ‘person’:

const person = {
  sayHello : () => `Hello! My name is ${person.name}.`;
};

ES6 is much better. The code is more elegance, readable and short.

Hi, your first question’s answer is yes; but ‘can a function(or anything) exist inside an object if it is not assigned to a key/property’ is error; as a object, object must has key & value;

Second question: cost => const ; x is variable/constant called “anonymous function’”

have a good day.

“ES6 is much better. The code is more elegance, readable and short.”