ES6: Use Destructuring Assignment to Assign Variables from Objects Question

Hi Fellow FreeCodeCampers!

I’m new to JavaScript and working through the list of assignments on free code camp. I’m on the lesson -
ES6: Use Destructuring Assignment to Assign Variables from Objects.

Now there are 3 examples they give, all which makes sense to me:
Example #1:
var voxel = {x: 3.6, y: 7.4, z: 6.54 };
var x = voxel.x; // x = 3.6
var y = voxel.y; // y = 7.4
var z = voxel.z; // z = 6.54

Example #2:
const { x, y, z } = voxel; // x = 3.6, y = 7.4, z = 6.54

Example #3:
const { x : a, y : b, z : c } = voxel // a = 3.6, b = 7.4, c = 6.54

Now the problem given is:
Use destructuring to obtain the length of the input string str, and assign the length to len in line.

This is the original code to start with:

function getLength(str) {
“use strict”;

// change code below this line
const length = 0; // change this
// change code above this line

return len; // you must assign length to len in line

}

console.log(getLength(‘FreeCodeCamp’));

Ok - so now I’m confused. If I simply use .length, I get the error that I haven’t used destructuring to obtain the length. I have two questions,
#1 why would we use destructing to do this when there is a simple answer like .length
#2 how do we use destructing for this?

// make this change
const len = str.length;

In the example the only thing I see are ways to assign properties of an array to a const variable, but I’m having difficulty even starting. I don’t understand how this would be used to get the length of a variable.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to break this problem down or explain what I am missing?

2 Likes

Hi
length is a property of str
the same way as
x is a property of voxel

In the third example
assign local variable a the value of voxel.x
and as in the challenge
assign local variable len the value of str.length