FCC personal portfolio passing, but still not perfect

Hello!

It’s me again! I’ve gotten to the point where my personal portfolio passes all the tests, and I could submit it… but I’m still not totally happy with it. I have been studying flexbox and grid constantly, and I thought I was getting a better hang on it. I think the display looks okay on desktop, but -as always- when I go to a smaller screen size things go downhill. :confused:
I am still not finding the answer to these problems. I’m googling everything I can think of, I did a Scrimba tutorial, I’ve doing Kevin Powell’s Responsive Web course… But obviously I still don’t get it. Can someone take a look and point me in the right direction?
Any other general feedback welcome too.

Thanks y’all!

Firstly if your still struggling try my links to the net ninja series from a few days ago, Kevin Powell is good but net ninja I think is easier to follow and understand, infact I think he’s the best of all of them and I have watched a lot.
You should go ahead and submit because you can still keep working on it if you want to for as long as you like. I submitted my projects a while ago but only today put my product landing page into the feedback section because I have completely restyled it to be less based on the fcc example and I wondered if my color choices were too bold.
Grid template areas I think is a fairly easy thing to understand though it does taks some typing. When I have 4 boxes in a div and want 2 per row but then only 1 per row in media queries it would look like

grid-template-areas:
“box1 box2”
“box3 box4”;
then in the media query I would switch it to
grid-template-areas:
“box1”
“box2”
“box3”
“box4”;
In the css for each individual box you tell it which grid area it belongs to ie
firstbox {
grid-area:box1;
}

1 Like

That’s really helpful, thanks. And grid-template areas go in the container div, right?

1 Like