Find the Longest Word in a String (without using the split method)

Please dont judge me I’m a newbie, but I have a question about how approach this problem . I’m wondering how to solve this without using the str.split method. The reason why I’m asking is because when I clicked on the Get a hint button it immediately tells me to split a string into an array of words , but after looking back at some of the challenges I have not really been taught how to do that.

so far I have pushed the string into an array but I have no way of splitting off each individual word to find its individual length.

my thought process so far is :

1. put the string into an array (done )

2. separate each word (without using str.split)

3. find the length of each word ( using the .length method)

4. store and compare each length of the string ( still trying to think of ways to do that )

I know that there is basically no code for ya’ll to review and comment on but I’m having a really hard time approaching this. I already solved the problem by copy pasting but I hate myself for doing that and it didnt help me understand anything.

Your code so far

function findLongestWordLength(str) {
    let words = []

words.push(str);

console.log(words)

}

findLongestWordLength("The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog");

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; CrOS x86_64 11316.148.0) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/72.0.3626.117 Safari/537.36.

Link to the challenge:
https://learn.freecodecamp.org/javascript-algorithms-and-data-structures/basic-algorithm-scripting/find-the-longest-word-in-a-string

ok so after taking your advice my current code looks like this:

var longestWord = "";  // what do I initialize this with?
  var currentWord = "";

// unsure about the use of str.length for this loop 
  for (var i = 0; i < str.length; i++) {
// iterate through the strings individual characters and spaces to "build a word" (is this right?) 
}