FrontEnd 25+5 Timer interval help

I am working my way through the 25+5 timer but having trouble getting the setInterval method to clear.

Can someone take a look and see if there is something i am missing?

thanks in advance. apologies it looks like crap. still a beginner

i should mention im very new to using interval and timeouts. Im having trouble understanding how the interval and clear interval works

This should help:

Basically it returns an id number which you can use with clearInterval to stop that interval from running.

i think i am on the right track but it still is not clearing interval. i dont know why my variable is not available in the clearInterval method

Well, it’s because of how this function is being done.
Every time you call this function it’s true.

It’s like doing if (true)

handleStart(){
   if(this.state.running = true){
      const myInterval = setInterval(()=>{
          this.setState((prev)=>{
            return {
              timer: prev.timer - 1, 
              sessionLength: prev.sessionLength, 
              running: false, 
              startStop: 'Stop'}
            })
            }, 1000) 
   } else if (this.state.timer = 0){

} else {
        clearInterval(myInterval);
        this.setState({
          startStop: 'Start'})
        }
        }

there are ways around this, one is to pass a parameter in your function so you know whether it is stop or start. Another option is to store the interval id in a ref

Isnt the seState funtion changing the state.running to false? which would then trigger the other parts of the if statement?

No because your handStart function is an if/else block it first checks if state is true then runs the code within the block. Your code isn’t checking the right things.