Get list of properties/method from JS

I am studying JS and I got stuck in a chapter of A Smarter Way to Learn JavaScript.

If you want a list of an object’s properties you do this as written in the book:

1 var listOfProperties = [];
2 for (var prop in plan1) {
3 listOfProperties.push(prop);
4 }

I could understand line 1 but for rest not really. If you could explain this to me in plain English with links for further reading I will be grateful.

Here is a link to a bit of code showing it being used … its done in pythontutor … as your code dosent have a object plan1 i created a small one with two properties to show it work.

http://www.pythontutor.com/visualize.html#code=var%20plan1%20%3D%20{‘make’%3A%20’car’,%20’type’%3A%20’manual’}%3B var%20listOfProperties%20%3D%20[]%3B %20for%20(var%20prop%20in%20plan1)%20{ listOfProperties.push(prop)%3B } console.log(listOfProperties)&cumulative=false&curInstr=9&heapPrimitives=false&mode=display&origin=opt-frontend.js&py=js&rawInputLstJSON=[]&textReferences=true

1 Like

Thanks, but I could not grasp it yet.

Any idea about the use of prop?

If you’ve seen javascript objects before, you know they follow a certain form:
{property1: value1, property2: value2}

Imagine this was the object called “plan 1” :
var plan1 = {apple: 1, banana: 2, coconut: 3};
The properties of the “plan1” object are apple, banana, and coconut.

A “for…in” loop is used specifically for objects and it loops through the object.

for (var prop in plan1) {
The “for” and the “in” part should be clear. That’s just the syntax for a “for…in” loop.
The “var prop” part just declares a new variable called “prop” that’s to be used specifically for the loop.
You don’t have to call it prop, you can call it whatever you want.
The “plan1” part is the actual object that you want to loop through.

The loop will run once for each item in the object, so going back to our “plan1” example,
var plan1 = {apple: 1, banana: 2, coconut: 3};