Getting ready to start applying for jobs.. Again!

Hey everyone,

I didn’t really spent much time on the form section when I was using FCC, but I’d like to share with you guys how my last month has went with this whole “Self-taught” route.

In December I was heavily motivated by the fact that I hate my current job, I wanted out of there as quick as possible. So on the 1’st I called in “sick” (maybe not the best idea during Covid but :rofl:). Anyways, this 1 sick day turned into a whole two weeks of strictly coding. In my first three days I built my first version of my portfolio site… I literally had not one project on there, so I guess it was more so just a website that was about me.

After it was done I instantly started applying for jobs, I applied to over 120 places. Long story short if your a self-taught developer don’t waste your time on Indeed.

That took me around 2 days ^, the next day I started contacting company’s directly and that’s when I got some hits back. If people still weren’t hiring they would at least reply, and that made me feel like someone was at least viewing my work.

Finally I got an email… It was good news, this company was hiring and he sent me the code test to get in. The test was suppose to take 3 hours it took me 12. I knew I wasn’t getting that job but I figured I’d give it all I had.

The next day I got the news… As expected I didn’t get the role as it was the test for the Senior position. Which I had no clue that’s what I was applying for.

Hi Brent,

We received the test, unfortunately, you did not pass for the senior position that we’re hiring for.

However, we are looking for someone junior on a fixed contract to help us maintain some of our existing sites. Is it something you’d be interested in?

Best,

I got back to him and then he never got back to me so I quickly began building projects and 2 more versions of my website.

V1

V2

V3

Today, I start applying again. I’ll post any update if anything happens.

2 Likes