Git and the terminal

Hi there,
I’m trying to delve deeper into git by playing with it on dummy repositories. However, I’m a newbie in using the terminal, and at times I don’t understand if it’s my lack of experience with it or with git that blocks me.
For example, today, I was trying the git rebase -i command, but I couldn’t understand how to format and use the message on the terminal:

Screen Shot 2021-08-03 at 12.22.29

Basically, I don’t know what I need to know; can someone point me in the right direction (git docs? terminal docs?) ? I’m on mac.

Thank you

Have you looked up tutorials on git rebase? I use interactive rebase all the time, and ultimately I learned from Googling examples of how that syntax works.

Yes, I have.
It’s not the syntax that I don’t understand, it’s the ‘how to’.
So far I’ve discovered that to modify a line I need to press ‘a’, and then I can modify say, ‘pick’ into ‘drop’. But after that, how do I ‘fire’ the rebase action?
I’m sure I’m missing something trivial, probably something about how the terminal works…

Once you have modified the file, you save and exit and the rebase should happen automatically. How you save and exit depends upon the text editor you have as your default.

1 Like

Hi @Marco16168 , welcome to the wonders of Vim: one of the oldest text editor, yet one of the most loved (and feared) one.

Why did vim open?
With git, certain command will require the usage of a text editor to modify certain elements. It just happens that vim is the default for many.

You don’t need to become a master in it, but you need to know a couple of commands to perform the bare minimum.

I suggest you to type vimtutor in your terminal, and follow the brief introduction.

Have fun exploring the “mouseless” editor. :slight_smile:

Edit: forgot to mention that you can of course change the default editor that git opens with:

$ git config --global core.editor [editor]

1 Like

All right, thanks. That was what I was missing I guess.