Help creating complex objects/collections using closure

Hello there,
I am studying JS and I have def hit my first roadblock. This is/are closures.
I understand what a closure is. I guess I am just having some issues wrapping my head around syntax(which has always been the issue for me).

function solve(){
  let a = 0;
  return function(){
    a++;
    console.log(a);
  }
}

let incrementor = solve();
incrementor();
incrementor();

This is just a simple program I have created to increment a value. I understand everything that is happening here. No mysteries thus far, but I was also looking at some challenges online and how to expand the logic.

Let’s say that firstly we want to accept some input. Where do I add input as a parameter? To the first function solve? To the second function? Or to both? I want to create a program which can do this:

And this is just the start. Let’s say I want to create a collection. I know how to return an object:

function solution(){
  let state = '';

return {
    append(str){
      state += str;
    },
    print(){
      console.log(state);
    }
  }
}

let value = solution();
value.append('hey there');
value.print();

This works completely fine.

But when I try to do this:

I am stumped again. I know everything in JS is pretty much an object even the arrays. That does not appear to help me. If someone can lend some assistance that would be great. I don’t want someone to jus write the code for me - just some explanations or pointers.

What is this line doing?

let incrementor = solve();

What is the value of incrementor after solve is executed? Well, solve returns a function, so incrementor is now just another name for that returned function. That’s why you can put parens after it to call it as a function.

If you want to pass input into a function, how do you do that? You pass it in using a parameter list:

myFunction(param1, param2, ...)

So to pass input into the function that is now called incrementor you would do: