Help with accordion behavior

I am trying to add two functions to this accordion and am having trouble figuring it out.

1. I would like only one accordion panel to be open at a time.
  2. If an accordion panel is open I would like to be able to close it by clicking on the open accordion tab.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I’ve created a codepen with what I’ve got so far.
https://codepen.io/markmulvey/pen/xYXgZj

I figured it out on my own. Updated pen.

Now to figure out a super simple way to get a circle plus and minus icon to work?

You could try adding a separate class for the vertical plus line (still using the after pseudoelement, so you code still is the same).

Html:
.plus vertical-line

CSS:

.plus.vertical-line:after {
//your code here
}

Then all you need to do is toggle that second class to get a plus or minus as desired.

Hope this helps (this is my first time trying to help someone out on fCC)?

Thanks, Oliver for helping. Honored to be your first. What would the javascript code be to toggle that? That’s where I am struggling.

I have managed to come up with a solution(although its not very pretty).

In order to get the toggling of classes to work, you need to remove the code for .plus:after and place into into the .vertical-line:after class. Then when you remove the .vertical-line from the elements class, it will turn it into a minus symbol.

You can see an example of how to manipulate css classes using the DOM (including toggling) here:
https://www.w3schools.com/jsref/prop_html_classname.asp

Trying to do this for more than one element is the tricky bit, but you already have much of the code that you need. The only bit that is really very complicated is traversing the DOM because it is quite long winded.