Help with my code

Hello, I need to pass an excercise with javascript.

I’m suppose to give the result for a bill dristribution of 5 with a 10% tip added to the amount.

this is my code:

const restaurantBill = (bill= 50) => {
const tax = bill*0.1;

const total= bill+tax;

return ["$" + total/5];
};

module.exports = restaurantBill;

I was given a boilerplate (template) with the code:

const restaurantBill = (bill) => {
const tax = /* ??? */

/* ??? */

return /* ??? */
};

If change it every possible I could and still it won’t acccept my answer. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. Can someone help me please! I’m very new to javascript.

I think we need to know more about what is expected for the answer. Right now you are returning an array with one element and that element is a string representing a dollar amount. Is that what they want you to return?

1. I have to asign the result from multipliying bill with 10% en the variable tax.
  2. I have to create a variable called total and asign it the result from adding bill plus tax
  3. I have to return the amount that each person have to pay (5 people) dividing total between 5, with the symbol $ at the beginning.

OK, so that would imply you need to return a string. But right now the string you are returning is in an array. Should you be returning an array or should you just be returning a string?

They suggested a string or string literals.

OK, so it sounds like they want a string returned from the function, not an array.

You are currently returning an array:

return ["$" + total/5];

Those brackets create an array and then you are putting the string you want to return as the first (and only) element in the array. So what do you think you need to do in order to return just the string?

I’ve tried:

1. return “$” + “total /5”;
    2: return ("$ + total/5");
  2. return ("$" + “total/5”);
    none work. :thinking: