Help with number program I am writing

Hello. I’m FAR from finished with my first app and am a total beginner to JavaScript, but I need some help because of these things. First off, some background on the app. It’s not a serious app, it’s meant for me to hone my skills. The premise for the app is that it randomizes blocks of time that you would enter on a hypothetical time card. You would add round numbers (example from 0700 - 0930 which is 2.5 hours)(btw uses 24 hr time). The purpose of this is to take your nice round time and randomly add or subtract a random 0-5 minutes on the end of it. It also tallies your cumulative time from your round numbers, and seperately tallies it for the simulated numbers. My problem is where it is tallying numbers. it doesnt always give the correct answer for the totals.
Here is my JS:

var startTimeEntry = document.querySelector(".startTime");
var endTimeEntry = document.querySelector(".endTime");
var hoursTotal = document.querySelector(".totalHours");
var simStart = document.querySelector(".simStart");
var simEnd = document.querySelector(".simEnd");
var simActual = document.querySelector(".simActual");
var oldStartTime = startTimeEntry.value;
var calc = document.querySelector("#calculate");

calc.addEventListener("click",newStartTime, true);

function newStartTime() {
    var randomStart = Math.random(); 
    if (randomStart < 0.5 && startTimeEntry.value.charAt(2) !== "3"&& startTimeEntry.value.charAt(2) !== "1" && startTimeEntry.value.charAt(2) !== "4" ) {
        //&& startTimeEntry.value.charAt(2) !== "3"
        var randomNum = (Math.random() * -5) -40 ;        
        } 
    else if (randomStart < 0.5 && startTimeEntry.value.charAt(2) == "3") {
        var randomNum = (Math.random() * -5)  ;
    }
    else if (randomStart < 0.5 && startTimeEntry.value.charAt(2) == "1") {
    }
    else if (randomStart < 0.5 && startTimeEntry.value.charAt(2) == "4") {
    }
    else randomNum = Math.random() * 5;