How is everyone doing this?

Hey there! I’m a preschool teacher, turning 34 next year, who is looking for a career change. I was considering either doing UX or coding. After doing some exercises in each though, I found myself having a lot more fun doing the coding! So happy I found fCC. I enjoy the ability to work at my own pace and the guilt-free cost compared to the bootcamp options I came across.

I had some minor experience with HTML and CSS when I was younger (back in the days of Xanga and mySpace, haha) so that really came in handy! It was all coming back to me, and I had fun working through the Responsive Web Design Certification. Now I am starting JavaScript… and whoa. It is a little confusing. Trying not to lose steam or get discouraged. Definitely feels like I’m learning a new language and learning a new type of math at the same time!

I feel silly that I’m asking this but I am curious how others are going about this curriculum. Should I go through the whole core curriculum in order or should I be choosing specific languages to specialize in? Is it enough to just stick to the core curriculum, or are people expected to supplement these lessons books or video tutorials? I was definitely using w3schools.com to help with some css and html questions I had, but I wasn’t taking notes or writing anything down the way I would have if I was using a textbook. Sorry for all these questions. I’ve just never done responsive e-learning this way.

1 Like

Hello. Welcome to our forum.
This happened to me too, and I believe it happens to anyone who hasn’t interacted with JavaScript. You won’t grasp everything at first, to some concepts you won’t even understand much even after carrying out some research about the bothering topic. You won’t get some of these concepts not until much later.