How to build a personal brand and be confident?

How to build a personal brand and be confident?

Hello, FCC Campers!

Background

I am about 9 months into web development, starting from knowing zero Javascript. I started this journey because I spent way, way too much time applying to jobs and sending in resumes and getting turned down, either no response or rejected from not being very confident in interviews.

I have a bachelors in physics, so I feel like I have the aptitude to code and pick up new languages. But in the interviews I had before I started learning web development, I had a hard time communicating my personal brand.

Today

I would really like some feedback on my resume and portfolio before I start applying to web development jobs. I suffer from impostor’s syndrome and never feel like I am good enough to do the job. Applying (with confidence) for an entry-level position is really difficult for me.

What can I do to my resume and portfolio to market myself for entry level web development jobs?

Resume

Portfolio

According to your Resume, you work at Wavetrix. Why not just switch jobs within your company? Am I missing something?

http://wavetrix.com/services/design-development/web-services-and-applications/

Hey, thank you for responding!

The company I work at is primarily in electronics consulting. In the time I’ve been there (9 months), there haven’t been any contracts for web development.

It looks like you finished the front end portion of FCC, so that’s great!

Here are somethings I would change in regards to your portfolio:

Give your portfolio some style. Look up some portfolio pages on dribbble or pinterest and you’ll find some great designs for inspiration.

I’d also put your projects up on GitHub and have them featured as images of gifs on your portfolio. I think this captures attention more than a link.