How to execute external API calls with React + Express

Hi everyone,

I’m still fairly new to full stack development and I’ve been stuck for days. I could really use some help from anyone who is familiar with React + Express + External API projects. Right now I still have my frontend and backend working independently of each other, but I’m at the stage where I need to start wiring up the frontend to the backend.

I have a file (PhotosAPI.js) with the following code on the React side:

const API = 'https://api.unsplash.com/';

export const getCurated = () =>
  fetch(`${API}photos/curated/?order_by=popular&client_id=${API_KEY}`).then(
    res => res.json()
  );

export const search = query =>
  fetch(`${API}search/photos?query=${query}&client_id=${API_KEY}`)
    .then(res => res.json())
    .then(data => data.results);

Then in App.js I make the fetch request in componentDidMount() and set the state like so:

componentDidMount() {
    PhotosAPI.getCurated()
      .then(photos => {
        this.setState({
          photos,
          loading: false
        });
      })
      .catch(error => this.setState({ error, loading: false }));
  }

My question is–now that I’m trying to integrate the backend–how should the fetch request be handled? Do I need to move PhotosAPI.js to the backend? If yes, then how do I pass the response back to componentDidMount() in the frontend so that it sets the state properly?

Any guidance on how to properly set this process up is greatly appreciated!

All the code you have shown so far is meant for the frontend and, as far as I can tell, is functional—it will fetch (presumably) photo data from Unsplash and store them into component’s state. Are you using a backend that you coded yourself and that the Unsplash API is just an example?

I might be missing something—if it’s all your own code, could you please provide some context as to what you are trying to do? Or perhaps provide the more relevant part of your code (backend)?