How to get value from a website and save it as a number or string

I want to know how to extract a value from a website. I send data to thingspeak and the website displays this: {"created_at":"2019-03-10T18:41:02Z","entry_id":190,"field1":"27.34"} I want to extract the value of the field1, the 27.34. I am new to javascript, this is what I did so far:

const fetch = require('node-fetch');

var url = 'the url goes here';
var lastTemp;

fetch(url)
    .then(res => res.json())
    .then(json => lastTemp = console.log(json.field1));

console.log(lastTemp);

This doesn’t seem to work. the json.field1 does seem to have the value I want, but lastTemp doesn’t. I need this value outside of fetch, but I just don’t know how. Thank you for the help.

That’s because last console.log runs before fetch has chance to set lastTemp variable.

(async function() {
  var { field1 } = await fetch(url).then(res => res.json());

console.log(field1);
})();

Thank you, but is it possible to get the value outside the function? for example,

var temp;

(async function() {

temp = field1;
})();

console.log(temp);

I’m trying to get the value and use it again outside the function, but this outputs undefined. How could I achieve that? Thank you.

You can call the outside function from that async function and pass data as an argument. That is the way you write JavaScript:

(async function() {

outsideFunction(field1);
})();

function outsideFunction(temp) {
  console.log(temp);
}

@jenovs has provided an awesome example that will hopefully get you on the right track.

Just incase you haven’t used async functions or IIFEs (immediately invoked function expressions), this is how you would write it using .then.

var lastTemp;

fetch(url)
    .then(res => res.json())
    .then(json => outsideFunction(json.field1));

console.log(temp);
}

Here’s a great link to details about promise chaining vs async functions. https://javascript.info/async