How to manually test URL Shortener Microservice

Hello,

I’m trying to figure out how to test the URL Shortener Microservice project myself, but I’m struggling. I’ve tried creating a post request to [project_url]/api/shorturl/new but I don’t think I’m quite doing it right. Can someone help?

Here is the post request code I have so far:

I’ve found as much as I could online, but I think I’m missing some fundamental understanding since I’ve never written a post request before.

Challenge:
URL Shortener Microservice

Hello Randell,

First off, thanks for your help! Even you providing that example has allowed me to see how to construct a post request.

However, I’m still running into an issue. When I try to access the url through the req.body.url, it is undefined. I investigated a bit and found that req.body is in fact an empty set of brackets {}. Because of this I can’t test my post method. Or maybe I am misunderstanding something?

I looked through your post request, and it seems like you placed everything in the correct spot so I should be able to access the url through req.body.url (the req variable is my name for the incoming request).

Here is a picture of my code trying to troubleshoot this:

Also, the console output logging the requrl variable and urlregex test (which should be true since the url is the proper google url) looks like:
{}
false

Note: I would upload more pictures but I’m limited by freeCodeCamp

Sure. Here it is:

It’s near the bottom under the URL Shortener Microservice section

Hey Randell,