How to send backend data to the frontend?

Hi guys, I am pretty new to backend dev, and will certainly begin the backend course in due time. But I just have a very general question, which all I am looking for is a general point in the right direction. My question is pretty simple, but I am sure it’s complicated haha! The question is:

How do I send backend data to the front end using node/express?

For example, I have the following code which I am accessing the Yelp API. I can get a response as a console log, but then how do I send it to the front end? I am writing my web app in Vue js, and if you are interested the github repo is here.

Here is my code so far. I know it’s very basic, but again, I would just love a simple point in the right direction :slight_smile: Thank you in advance!!

var yelp = require('yelp-fusion'); 
// Yelp Fusion API
const token  = 'zb1p8LlaSDttz_8TXaEenGYv5UEF8Z6VoenBSzT873EIdec7hvcqvemcwkrTqtvYAqUyodgrviFIDcu7nZ8h3XOJ7OeopEgkdM8Nb-lgtIOEglYVucHb1GTmZWceWXYx';
const client = yelp.client(token);
client.search({
  term:'Coffee',
})
.then(response => console.log(response.jsonBody.businesses))
.catch(e => console.log(e));

// send the yelp data to the client side using a dynamic search query from the input?
express.get('/search', function(req, res) {
  // how do I set this up?
});

/* Front end code
onSubmit () {
      if (this.searchTerm.length) {
        // reset loading signal
        this.loadingDone = false;
        this.items = [];
        // ajax get request with vue-resource
        this.$http.get(`/search/${this.searchTerm}`)
          .then(function(res) {
            this.results     = res.data;
            this.loadingDone = true;
          })
        ;
      }
*/

You are keeping your front end logic in a separate file, yes? So before you set up your routes, you need to invoke express in a variable called “app”, like so:

const app = express();