How would you scrape this website using beautiful soup?

Here is the website:
https://geoportal.minetur.gob.es/VCTEL/vcne.do

When you zoom into the map, blue blobs appear. When you click on a blue blob, information about it pops up. I want to retrieve this information for each blob. There are about 50,000 blobs I believe

I’ve seen another person scrape this information in the past but don’t know how they did it, I imagine it is relatively simple

Thanks for your time

Jaime

P.S. I have tried this code but it did not give me back anything, just a blank list (I am new to python and beautiful soup):

The reason I chose to search using the word ‘image’ is that when you click a blue blob using ‘inspect’, an image tag appears for each blob with a slightly different id:

So I thought that if I got all the image tags I would get a list of all the blobs. But BeautifulSoup doesn’t seem to find the image tags, why not?

If you want to scrape information from a website, you will have to find where the information is actually coming from. For static websites, all the information is in the html file, but for dynamic websites the information might be coming from some api. Too figure this out, use the Network tab in your browser’s devtools. The first request (with type: HTML) is the one that you are reading with BeautifulSoup.

In your case, this html file does not contain any images, which is why your list is empty. You will find that each time you zoom in, a new set of images is loaded. And when you have zoomed in far enough, a request is made to get the ‘blobs’ in that part of the map. Maybe if you change the parameters of that request, you can get the data you want.

1 Like

Thanks for your reponse @BenGitter

So as you move across the map, the website makes API requests, as shown below:

I would like to get the 3 pieces of information underlined in red for each blue blob

Do you know how I could do this?

Thanks for your time

Jaime