I am 34 - Am I too old to even consider a career in WebDev?

Hello! Pretty much the title says it all… I am 34 years old and I have been messing with some HTML/CSS/JS coding for a few years, but I never seem to be able to stick to it. Every time I give up, the main factor is that I feel too old to start a career in such a demanding field. Also, I live in a fairly small town in Greece with a non existent tech market, so my main option will be to look for remote positions and/or freelancing. Is this doable? If yes, would freeCodeCamp be the right way to do it? I decided to post in this community because I’d love some feedback on that - either to gain some well-founded motivation or to stop thinking about this career change. Thanks!

1 Like

Search for posts “50 year old”, there are loads of inspiring stories who have joined IT in later phase of their lives

you should join local bootcamp and later move to Western Europe where you will find loads of development jobs

3 Likes

Hi there, young man,

not software development, but still IT: Operations/sysadmin/networks and I changed into this career in my 50s. If I can do it, you can as well.

4 Likes

I’m not giving up hope and i will be 50 next month. I have endured some medical set backs and programming and web development would be amazing as a career change. I can’t wait until I can put what I learn here to use and be a part of something big in a vast and ever changing world.

1 Like

You are never too old to begin a career in tech. Especially at your age. There are people in here in their forties and fifties that are learning to code. They all can succeed and so can you.

It won’t be easy but if you focus on your studies; I know you can do it.

As an aside; freelancing is not for everyone. It is fast and demanding and generally not as worth it as you might not think.

1 Like