I am totally lost with the Random Quote Machine

I am a beginner with no previous Javascript knowledge and I’m having difficulty connecting the button with the ability to view and change quotes in Javascript. I have added the button in html but how do I add the quotes in Javascript? I’ve looked online and found this code:

var quotes = new Array();
    quotes[0] = "Don't be so humble - you are not that great.";
    quotes[1] = "Moral indignation is jealousy with a halo.";
    quotes[2] = "Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.";
    quotes[3] = "The fundamental cause of trouble in the world is that the stupid are cocksure while the intelligent are full of doubt.";
    quotes[4] = "Victory goes to the player who makes the next-to-last mistake.";
    quotes[5] = "His ignorance is encyclopedic";
    quotes[6] = "If a man does his best, what else is there?";
    quotes[7] = "Political correctness is tyranny with manners.";
    quotes[8] = "You can avoid reality, but you cannot avoid the consequences of avoiding reality.";
    quotes[9] = "When one person suffers from a delusion it is called insanity; when many people suffer from a delusion it is called religion.";

var nextQuote = 0;
var textField = document.getElementById("textField"); 

function buttonClickHandler() {
    if(nextQuote < 10) {
        nextQuote++;
    } else {
        if (window.nextQuote == null) {
   window.nextQuote = 0 
} else {
   window.nextQuote++
}
    }
    textField.value = quotes[nextQuote];
}

Can someone help me with the html and Javascript part of it? Thanks.

Actually, that is not going to generate a random quote, instead it will return the next quote on the array. I’m using React so I don’t think I can help too much, but here is my machine https://github.com/Oxyrus/Wonka (I’m still working on it) but it works.

You should be using textField.textContent not textField.value.

I cleaned up your code.
You need to use triple backticks to post code to the forum.