I feel lost, I can not keep up with freecodecamp. help!

Hello!

I’m using 2 months freecodecamp. I managed to complete all the basic algorithms (with some difficulty) and I did the first intermediate project where you have to create a random machine quote.

From here my decline began. I’ve been stucked with “show the local weather” for about a week.

So for frustration I started making some intermediate algorithm to change. At the Roman Numeral Converter I was stucked for 3 days. I tried with the hints but nothing. In the end I’ feel “surrendered” and I saw the solution. To me it seemed impossible to get there alone.

So from here I came back to the root, I bought 2 books on the javascript and started studying them doing some exercise to try to keep the mind trained.
From here, my will has gone more and more. I started studying 8 hours a day, then 6, then 4, now 2.

I feel very frustrated, I feel like I’m wrong, like I’m slamming against a wall.

By self-taught, what should I do to get back to being constant with the study?
Is it normal to feel like me at the beginning?

I thought I would split the day into:

1. theoretical part
  2. practical part (algorithms)

Maybe I have to use some other site with freecodecamp?

The main problem for me is to understand the programming mindset, there are many solutions to certain algorithms that I still do not understand. I often feel lost, and often I can not understand how to apply the right solution for a problem.

How did you do it?

Sorry for the long post!

6 Likes

Do not worry, you’re not wrong, there’s nothing wrong with you. I remember that time, same as you, it was difficult and I took 14 to 21 days to complete each intermediate project!
The key was to keep trying every day. I watched lots of coding videos, read 2 books on javascript and ajax, practiced by doing side-projects.