I have kind of a silly question about the actual application process itself

OK - so looking at self-taught devs who have applied for jobs, I often see something like this:

I applied for 15-20 jobs, got 2 or 3 callbacks…

…and so on.

I’ve just now begun the job search. I spent some time filling out my linkedIn profile, fixing up my resume and uploading it, and I’ve just been looking around on their job postings.

LinkedIn makes it really easy to apply for jobs if they are through their board. Indeed.com has a similar thing going. I was able to apply for 5 jobs in the course of about an hour, and setting up my LinkedIn probably took another hour.

In short, it seemed really, really easy to apply for those 5. It seems like 15 could be done in a day.

So I’m wondering… am I doing something wrong, or are most people just not applying for very many jobs? I want to apply for as many jobs as possible. The number 500 comes to mind. Maybe more. I’m ready. And I want to do this correctly as possible. I’m coming from another field where I had a job via an internship, so this is my first time doing something like that.

The only thing I can think of is that I’m applying for jobs anywhere in the country - relocation is not an issue for me. That being said, a couple of those jobs I applied for WERE local.

I think most self-taught developers who go on to get jobs send in applications that are highly geared towards that company which often takes a good chunk of time.

From what I read and hear, sending in a bunch of applications to a companies HR department or recruiter without a traditional background isn’t the way to go.

Networking and highly configured applications to companies you actually want to work for, seem like the current trend.

1 Like

Well, I haven’t read that because I’ve never seen people say much about the details of what they are doing, just ‘I applied for this.’ Do you have a source or any resources on this subject?