JavaScript Falsy Explanation

Can someone please explain the concept of falsy to me? I’m a beginner and I’m having a lot of trouble understanding it. You’ll have to explain it to me like I’m an 8 year old. Please don’t post any external resources as I’m hoping someone can explain it to me here via a conversation about it. I’ve also read and watched a lot about it and the online explanations are over my head. Thank you.

Good morning.

The simplest definition I know of for falsy is by example.

A variable is falsy if the variable evaluates to false when used in an if statement:

let myVar = 0;

if (myVar) {
  console.log("This variable is not falsy");
} else {
  console.log("This variable is falsy");
}
// This code will print "This variable is falsy"

This is in contrast to truthy variables, which evaluate to true in an if statement:

let myVar = "banana";

if (myVar) {
  console.log("This variable is truthy");
} else {
  console.log("This variable is not truthy");
}
// This code will print "This variable is truthy"

You can try these examples in your browser console, in the Free Code Camp editor, or in this repl.it link.

In JavaScript there is a kind of values called “boolean”, these values are just two: true and false

Any other value in javascript can be described as true-like or false-like, meaning that in certain situations behave exactly like the corresponding boolean.
The true-like values are called “truthy”, the false-like values are called “falsy”

They behave exactly like the corresponding booleans, and you can use this for example in if statement conditions, or ternary operators, like shown by @JeremyLT above

1 Like

I’m trying to get a fresh start. Can you please delete your post and refrain from posting on this thread? Thank you.

I understand that something can be true or false. What do you mean by “behave…like a boolean?”