Job interview as a Front-End Developer

Hello, Devs

One quick question on job interview advice, I been here in freecodecamp for quite some time and learn a lot from lectures and helping out friends, as well I been asking questions and learn from great developers, this been a family to me. Now I’m on a new journey to seek a job and just had my first interview.

I have only know HTML5/CSS3 with pure vanilla JS, old plain JS, everything went smooth and good but they ask me if I know React JS, it got a big surprise in me I really told them I have no experience just yet, I have spent most of the time learning the fundamental parts of JS pure vanilla because I believe this is where all begins. They told me if I’m willing to learn it, and I said yes, well if I know the basics then I can deal with React JS.

Can you all give me good advice as to how can I really do well if I get the job, I still have some more interviews coming up next week and I want your opinion? what do you guys think? and what will be best to do? Excited at the same time but also nervous I might not get my first job interview because of the lack of React JS. I know I have to learn to React but will also have to have time as well to dedicate to learn it, much confused I will say but I’m willing to learn as well.

Thank you so much all.

1 Like

Every interview is a learning experience, one that you take what you learn, and apply it so your better for the next one.

So for this case, I’d go out and learn some React, if they are directly asking for it in the interview. Its very hard to go far from some React, or one of the other major frameworks for modern web development front-end. Sure there are still jobs that don’t use these, but the are used to such degree to not have any experience in them closes a lot of doors. If anything, because they are “modern” there isn’t any rule that says you couldn’t start end up needing to learn it later even if you get a job where you don’t use it.