Learn Git lesson calls a "medium" reset a "soft" reset

I believe there’s a mistake in a Relational Database Learn Git lesson. This instruction is given:

I’m going to show you a few ways to remove or undo a commit. The first is to simply “travel back in time”. You can use the git reset command to travel to any point in your commit history. Your current HEAD is a reference to the last commit you just made. Use git reset HEAD~1 to go back one before HEAD .

The next instruction says:

This is a “soft” reset and will put the changes from the commit you undid in your working tree. You can see that it says there’s unstaged changes after the reset to your file.

This is not a soft reset. This was a medium reset. --medium is the default. --soft would leave the changes in the staging area.

I tried to report a bug through the VM interface, but I could only type ~100 characters and it stopped working.

Thank you for helping make FCC better. Bugs can be reported as GitHub Issues. Whenever reporting a bug, please check first that there isn’t already an issue for it and provide as much detail as possible.

1 Like