Length of String in c

Can you guys please tell me why this code doesn’t work in finding the length of one element in the array of strings?

Example failed output:

lengthString

It doesn’t show the length message.

Here is the code:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

int main()
{
   int length=0,n;
   char words[5][50];

for(int i=0; i < sizeof(words)/ sizeof(words[0]); i++) {
        printf("Enter string %d: ", i+1);
        gets(words[i]);
    }

printf("Which number to find the length: ");
   scanf("%d", n);

while(words[n-1] != '\0') {
     length++;
   } 

printf("The length of the word is: %d", length);

return 0;
}

Hello,

Can you give an example of test case that fails?

I am no expert in C, but that looks like an infinite loop to me. The condition doesn’t change based on the loop-body.
Shouldn’t this be something like words[n-1][length]?

I already edited my post

@Jagaya I tried this but it doesn’t work. I don’t really understand

Well given the code doesn’t reach the final message - I assume it’s in fact an infinite loop.
So go ahead and print out values - the array, the chosen word, every step of the while-loop. Also add second condition to the while-loop, so it runs at most 50 times or so.

If you don’t know what your code is actually doing, just force it to tell you everything it’s doing and then look where something seems off.

1 Like

Here is how it should be I think. I hope it helps.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

int main()
{
   int length = 0, n;
   char words[5][50];

for(int i = 0; i < sizeof(words) / sizeof(words[0]); i++) {
        printf("Enter string %d: ", i+1);
        gets(words[i]);
    }

printf("Which number to find the length: ");
   scanf("%d", &n);

int i = 0;
   while(words[n-1][i++]!= '\0') {
     length++;

}

printf("The length of the word is: %d\n", length);

return 0;
}
2 Likes

Oh okay, that’s a good strategy

Wow thank you this actually worked. Can’t believe I forgot to put the “&” sign lol.