Looking for a career advice

Hi people, I was wondering what should I learn apart from the full stack developer course on freeCodeCamp. And what should be my expectations from the first job?

1 Like

Hi @hrs070!

I am also a beginner but I found some articles on FCC news that might interest you.

Hope that helps!

2 Likes

Thanks for the articles. @jwilkins.oboe

Hi there,

Why do you think you should learn something apart from FCC?
How about finishing what youā€™ve started and asking afterwards?
It just increases complexity when you do multiple things at the same time.

2 Likes

Iā€™m definitely going to finish this course. What I meant by something apart is like Data Structures and c/c++, etc. for interviews and all. Because Iā€™m learning web dev in order to get a good job. So any advice for that?

I see. My advice is to finish the course first while taking notes about what you think is missing in your knowledge. This differs from person to person because everyone has a different background.

If you ask questions now for problems in 6 months, your answers will be old then. So you have to do the work in 6 months nevertheless. So I wouldnā€™t waste my time now.

1 Like

Why would you need to know c/c++ for web dev jobs?
Donā€™t get me wrong C is kind of cool but it might be best to focus on getting really good at javascript for web development.

1 Like

By the end of the full stack developer course you should have a very broad set of skills and a fairly comprehensive portfolio. Thereā€™s a chance youā€™ll land your first dev job before you finish or shortly after.

What I would focus on after you complete it is starting a new project from scratch or expanding on one of your existing projects and tie as many of your skills together in one place.