Making Grid Rows the same height?

Hi, here’s my project: https://codepen.io/zara-knox/pen/LYZWMym

This is my first foray into the world of grids, and here’s what I have so far. I don’t know how to get the two rows to be of equal height. I read that
grid-auto-rows: 1fr should work, but it does nothing.

As this is my first time using grids, I’m sure there is a more eloquent way to write the grid, and I still have no clue how to use minmax etc. properly yet. Any advice welcome for the height issue as well as anything else!

Forgive the ugliness at present - it hasn’t been styled yet, and the colours are just placeholders for visibility while I work.

Thanks, all.

Hi,

I’m still learning css grid so forgive me if what I say ends up being wrong or unhelpful - hopefully someone who actually knows what they’re talking about will come along later. But… as far as I can tell, your rows are of equal height. If I add a border to the <a> tags inside #projects-grid I get this:

But because your image files are slightly different sizes, they end up sitting a little funky. If you can be bothered to remake all your image files to be the same size, that would be one way of solving the problem. There probably is a neater way round it with css but I’m afraid I don’t know what that is yet :slight_smile:

1 Like