Mobile Apps, storing data on device

I’m building an Android app and I’m trying to find a way to store data on the user’s device. It’s not much data (think game highscores and number of challenges completed), so it could well be stored as {key: String} pairs.

I find it difficult to google myself to an answer, I think that SQLite might be an option, but I’m not sure if a database would be overkill for this little data.

I’m totally clueless about how mobile apps handle local storage, so it’d be great if someone would be able to point me at a direction or just throw some tech terms at me to research further. I’ve no knowledge in either Java or Kotlin, so anything supported by React Native or Expo would be awesome.

Mobile/native apps have access to the devices filesystem:
I’d start here:

If your using a framework like React Native, I’d check their docs such as here:

I’ve already looked into AsyncStorage and if I’m not completely mistaken, it uses the global storage, not the internal app-specific one, so I don’t think that’s what I’m looking for, but thanks anyway.

AsyncStorage is probably what you want, it’s specific to the app.

Re what mobile uses (and what AsyncStorage makes use of) – SQLite [assuming heavily customised] for lots of iOS (and lots of OSX), used to be same for Android but newer versions use RocksDB afaik. So yes, you could bundle a version of SQLite specifically for your app, it’s unlikely to be too hard as it’s a tiny completely standalone thing that works everywhere (although it’s native so it’ll inevitably probably not work or need some huge amount of faffing around to do or come with huge caveats). But then you’re just replicating what’s already built into the device anyway so :man_shrugging:t3:.

If it’s stuff that needs to be secure, SecureStore gives access to the cryptographically secured storage (keychain on iOS & whatever Android uses), but that’s unlikely that apply here (just really for passwords and stuff).