My Tribute Page - Would Love Some Feedback!

Hi all,

This is my first project - the Tribute Page - and as you can see, it’s very basic! :blush:

I actually finished the tribute page weeks ago, and kept forgetting to put it on the forums, so I have learned a lot since creating this, but I would still really appreciate any feedback you have for me - don’t hold back!

p.s. I’m just about to post my 2nd project on here too, so please take a look at that if you get a chance, and hopefully see how I’ve progressed?

Thanks everyone!

Overall this is nice. Good job on the alt text for the image and nice use of the <blockquote> tag. Just a few issues/suggestions:

• When I narrow the browser I get a horizontal scroll bar. You definitely want to get rid of that. My understanding is that these projects are supposed to be fully responsive, so horizontal scroll bars should almost never be there except for extreme circumstances.

• The <figcaption> element must be a child of the <figure> element, so change the #img-div div to a <figure>.

• The main content should be wrapped in a <main>. I’m going to say that you really don’t have a header on this page, so basically all the content above the <footer>.

• If you want to be really semantically correct then you can use the <time> element for the dates in the list instead of <strong>.

• The wikipedia link at the bottom isn’t the greatest link text. The link text should be a little more descriptive about where the link will take you. You should be able to rework that sentence so the link text could be something like “Carl Sagan’s Wikipedia page”.

• There is an empty <p> tag just before the footer.

@bbsmooth thanks for taking the time to look over my project :slight_smile:

You’re absolutely right about the scroll bars - I will definately fix that.
TBH I need to work on my understanding of responsiveness as a priority - I’m finding CSS much more complicated than HTML, but I’m taking steps to get better!