Need some career guidance

Hi,
I am working in a company for 1.7 years in a support role. Although i have worked for more than a year but I feel like I have no good experience in technology and my growth has stopped.
I am really passionate about backend engineering. Done some side projects.
Technologies i know spring boot, express, Oracle db, Mongodb.
Languages - Java, Javascript, Typescript, python.
I have also done 250+ leetcode questions.

Please share your guidance.

Thanks.

1 Like

hello and welcome to fcc forum :slight_smile:

i hope you are keep applying to your dream jobs!! meanwhile, to have more wholesome approach for this job hunt you can look into danny thompson’s youtube series and others like him

good luck and happy searching :slight_smile:

What is your dream job?

Me, I’m just finding my feet about exactly what is what in this world of tech. Coming from construction where I’ve worked all my life, I’m struggling to know where to even start.

That’s really cool that you are putting hard work to move out of support role to Backend Engineer role.

Some tips to get into Backend Engineering role

1. Now a days startup are using non-Java tech for backend, so don’t invest time to learn Java related things. Legacy projects use Java and there are tons of engineers who have this knowledge already. Let’s not be part of big group.

2. Python / JS ( node.js ) will help you get dream job, keep building projects. Less engineers with this tech knowledge, can be easier to get job.

3. I suggest to checkout JD of backend engineering and learn additional skills needed as well. My favourite place to check JD and latest tech used is “Y Combinator jobs page”

All the very best.

Make sure to keep committing your work to Github on daily basis, as this will help a lot in getting new role as backend engineer.

1 Like

I don’t have such a thing called “dream job”. I always wanted to work for something that has a lot of impact on its user by the help of technology.