Page looks different in codepen than it does using Brackets

Pretty weird stuff. I’m working on my portfolio page locally in brackets. When I copy and paste the markup and related CSS into codepen things looks different (e.g., container not going full width, padding and margins need to be adjusted, etc.)

I’m a newb to coding in general so not sure if there’s some fundamental concept I’m missing or if codepen isn’t geehawing with my code. Either way it’s not inspiring a lot of confidence in my that I can write code and port it over to different editors and browsers and get the consistent results.

1 Like

I don’t know, post a link to the codepen so we can see it?

It’s minor but my codepen version has some padding or margin on the left that isn’t present in brackets. I also had to tweak the position of the landing logo and slogan for codepen.

Speaking of, and perhaps I need to start a new thread as to not derail, I’m having a hell of a time getting my logo and slogan to overlay over the horizontal center of my background image and STILL be responsive. When I scale my browser the logo and slogan don’t align themselves properly. I initially tired using CSS to add the background image along with a “min height” to force the full size image. I may try that route again after I seemed to have fixed my class positions (i.e., relative & absolute).

I don’t know if it’s the cause of all your site’s problems, but you’ll need to add jQuery and Bootstrap the CodePen way rather than in the HTML, as you would when hosting locally. I noticed that the console is complaining about “$” being undefined, which could be causing problems for Bootstrap as it depends on jQuery. Once you get those sorted, it will at least make the problem easier to diagnose.

1 Like

It’s looking good so far. I completely understand how frustrating it can be to smooth out those last few kinks. I copied and pasted it into my own brackets and noticed a few things…