Philosophical crisis on first project

I’ve been learning front-end development for a few months now, not just on freeCodeCamp, but other places as well. One of the first principles of web design I learned, which I have found stressed again and again is that content and presentation must be separated. In other words your HTML contains your content, and only your content, and the CSS contains your presentation and only your presentation.

So here’s the issue I’m having. The first project requires using Bootstrap, which violates this separation of concerns, and not just a little. Bootstrap is basically throwing away the style sheet and putting the presentation entirely in the HTML.

This seems a bit like going back to the days of layout using tables. I don’t really understand why Bootstrap was created this way. I get that Bootstrap does make improvements with responsiveness, but responsive designs can be made entirely using CSS (I know because I’ve made a few).

I have done some research and discovered that it is possible to move the Bootstrap classes to CSS using Less, but that is a bit over my head for the time being.

Has anyone else had this issue with Bootstrap, or am I being a bit TOO principled?

1 Like

None of the FCC projects requires you to use any specific library. You can do them all in vanilla HTML/CSS/JS.

Also how is Bootstrap violating separation of concerns? What is the difference between <div class="mySuperClass> and <div class="container">?

1 Like

Thank you for that clarification. I think I misinterpreted the instruction where it said to make a website that is ‘functionally similar’. I may just skip the Bootstrap, at least for now.

There isn’t much difference between those two classes, but as I understand it, neither of those classes should be used in HTML because neither are semantic. They don’t add any meaning to the content, and are only used for styling purposes.