Please Help Me Spot Bugs in my JS:

Hello, I’m creating a form. I doing validation via the pattern attribute and JS. With my #name input, when the user types an invalid number of characters, they are supposed to receive one error message, and when they type an invalid character period, they are supposed to receive another error message. Right now, it seems my first if statement is working, but my second if, and my else appear to be broken.

I’m pretty new to JS, and am having trouble spotting my bugs. Would you help?

Here’s my code:

<div id="name-container">
        <p id="length-error">length error</p>
        <p id="character-error">character error</p>
        <label id="name-label" class="label-small">Name: </label><input id="name" for="name-label" class="text" type="text" placeholder="John Doe (required)" pattern="[A-Za-z.']" required>
        </div>
        <script>
          const name = document.getElementById('name');
          const lengthError = document.getElementById('length-error');
          const characterError = document.getElementById('character-error');

name.addEventListener('input', function (){
            if (name.value.length < 3)
              {
                lengthError.style.display = "block";
              }
            if (name.value.validity.patternMismatch){
                characterError.style.display = "block";
            }
            else{
              lengthError.style.display = "none";
              characterError.style.display = "none";
            }
          });
        </script>

Thank you. :slightly_smiling_face:

Hi there. Please check the console for errors as it can be very enlightening. name.value.validity is undefined which means it’s not actual property on the object. When JavaScript encounters an error, things go wonky. The value in the name element is just a string. You’re looking for name.validity.patternMismatch probably.