Possible to use React to render to a different div

Hey all,
I’m working on the Recipe box react challenge, and I decided to add my own flare, by adding a shopping list on the left hand side of the screen.

If you look at the screenshot, you’ll see that I have an “add to shopping list button”, and I’m trying to render the ingredients and name of the food on the recipe list, into the shopping list well. I would think that the only way to do this (since my ReactDOM.render is focused on the recipe well), would be to do another ReactDOM.render but it appears as though that doesn’t work. Suggestions?

I’m still new to React as well, so take this as it is.

What you can do is separate your components. You have a Shopping list for your ingredients, and your Recipe list

Turn those into two components, and have your APP.js file render those two components. This is just an idea, you don’t have to follow this. You can easily do this all in just one file.

Then, with your “add to shopping list” button, you can add all the ingredients needed by updating the State of your Shopping list.

Read up about component state here: https://facebook.github.io/react/docs/state-and-lifecycle.html

@Torgian

That’s not actually a terrible idea, however, in your example wouldn’t you have to udpate the state of one component from another component? If so how?

React has a good example of two components reacting to the same state change. Technically each component is unaware of the other, they aren’t changing each other’s state specifically, they’re changing A state.

You can also do something more complex with Redux

Since I’ve started using React I began to think of state in terms of application and component. I think in order to understand state it is important to understand why React has become so popular.