Python Homework Help! Simple Code Needed

I’ve been trying to solve the below simple exercise but no code I’ve tried worked so far, I’m using python 3 spyder

Write a Python script that will read a text file whose lines contain numbers separated by white-space; as output, the program will produce for each line of the original text file another line that will contain two numbers: the first will be the total number of entries in the line, and the second will be the sum of the numbers in the line.

Example:

Input file (test1.txt) contents:

1 3 5 12 0

2 3

-1 1

Expected Output:

Enter text file name: test1.txt

Output:

5 21

2 5

1 1

2 0

What have you tried so far?

Well! I kept erasing cause nothing was producing the required result, I tried may be converting the txt file to a list and that didn’t work, I tried using a for loop and it didn’t work either. I’m a complete and total beginner in python and coding altogether and so this is super confusing!

Uh! I also tried this:

f= open("test1.txt", "r")
print(f.read())
with open('test1.txt') as fp:
    list_1 = [list(map(int, line.strip().split(' '))) for line in fp]
    total= 0
    for line in fp:
        total += int(line)
print(total)

not working as well.

I’m having trouble reading your code. Can you put triple backticks on the line before and after?

I have no idea what triple backticks even mean!!! LORD!!! that is how new and clueless I’m lol. Anyways I’ve copied my code exactly how I entered it into python, I hope this helps. Sorry for the inconvenience.

print(f.read())
    list_1 = [list(map(int, line.strip().split(' '))) for line in fp]
    total= 0
    for line in fp:
        total += int(line)
print(total)

Put 3 of this character before and after the code in your post. Otherwise I can’t see the spaces.
```

f= open(“test1.txt”, “r”)
print(f.read())
with open(‘test1.txt’) as fp:
list_1 = [list(map(int, line.strip().split(’ '))) for line in fp]
total= 0
for line in fp:
total += int(line)
print(total)