Question about reduce method - freeCodeCamp Algorithm Challenge Guide: Wherefore Art Thou

Hi, I have completed this challenge and now, I’m studying the example code.
I have trouble understanding the code in Advanced Code Solution.
I have read the “Code Explanation,” but I don’t understand the reduce method part.
I read about reduce and I understand what reduce method can do, but I just can’t understand why this reduce method work in this way.

.reduce(function(a, b) {
    return a && b;
  });

Can anyone explain what this code above is doing?
Thank you.

freeCodeCamp Algorithm Challenge Guide: Wherefore Art Thou

5 Likes

The reduce() method is used on an array produced by the following:

srcKeys.map(function(key) {
  return obj.hasOwnProperty(key) && obj[key] === source[key];
});

Which is an array of either true or false, depending on whether or not all key-value pairs are present in a reference object (obj) in the collection. For example:

• If obj is { a: 1, b: 2, c: 3 } and source is { a: 1 }, then the array produced is [true]
  • If obj is { a: 1, b: 2, c: 3 } and source is { a: 1, c: 3 }, then the array produced is [true, true]
  • If obj is { a: 1, b: 2, c: 3} and source is { a: 1, b: 2, c: 4 }, then the array produced is [true, true, false]

When the reduce method isn’t provided an initial value for the accumulator, the accumulator automatically takes the value of the first element in the array. As such, the code:

myArray.reduce(function(a, b) {
    return a && b;
  });

effectively returns the logical AND (&&) of all elements in the array when the array has more than one element; that is, it returns true when all elements are true, and returns false otherwise.

When the array has only one element, the first value in the array is returned; here is the relevant bit in the documentation for reduce():