Real time Online Booking System

I am a beginner in programming, and I have recently came across this topic and having a lot of questions in my mind about this topic. Assume that I am creating this Booking application in PHP as Backend with SQL as the database and HTML + JS as the front-end, and for understanding purposes this is an empty booking system.

Questions:

1. I have 20 seats to be booked and launching the server at a particular time and more than 100 users are trying to book these tickets after booking, a dummy payment process for little realistic. Assuming two users selecting the same seat or ticket at the same time what happens then? how the program will choose between them?

2. Assuming One user wants to spam others so he just selects a seat and wait for long in the payment process, what happens to that seat?

3. and so many questions like this? wondering how the real time applications like airline ticket system or amazon purchasing with limited stocks works?

Thanks in advance.

Different systems use different approaches/patterns. Most common are:

• ā€œLockā€ the scarce resource at some point so nobody else can take it, with the lock expiring after a certain time period if you donā€™t complete the operation. For example some ticket booking systems will show you that youā€™ve got 10 minutes to finish the payment process. At the end of 10mins the ticket(s) go back to being available for someone else to book. This is how tickets via travel agents work (or used to work); theyā€™d be able to put a hold on the tickets for 24 or 48 hours (for example, I imagine the systems had specific allowed times), within which time they could complete the booking at that price.
  • the resource (ticket etc) isnā€™t reserved/locked until paid for. So you can have an item in your shopping cart right up to the point you pay for it but if someone else buys it before you then when you try to pay the system will say ā€˜oops, no longer availableā€™.