Return Largest Number in Array - What am I Missing?

My solution to this problem is below - and it works!

I’m posting because I decided to look at the “Get a Hint” page after I solved the problem. Just to see what solution(s) were offered there.

Mine doesn’t really match any of the 3 solutions offered. In fact, mine seems to be simpler (not sure if it’s more readable or not). But, I’m really new at this so…

Am I missing something here? Are there advantages that the supplied solutions offer that mine misses out on? Or is this just one of those situations where there just happen to be lots of ways to solve the problem and it doesn’t really matter how it gets done?

Thanks!

Your code so far

function largestOfFour(arr) {
let result = [];
for (let i=0; i<arr.length; i++) {
  result.push(Math.max(...arr[i]));
}
return result;
}

largestOfFour([[4, 5, 1, 3], [13, 27, 18, 26], [32, 35, 37, 39], [1000, 1001, 857, 1]]);

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:70.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/70.0.

Challenge: Return Largest Numbers in Arrays

Link to the challenge:
https://www.freecodecamp.org/learn/javascript-algorithms-and-data-structures/basic-algorithm-scripting/return-largest-numbers-in-arrays

You are basically dealing with a case of convenience modern JS features (spread operator) being used instead of a loop or a .reduce method. But ofc this solution could be even more small if you used Array.prototype.map instead of the “for loop”.

If you were to not use the spread operator (…) you’d have to use the classic algorithm to determine the maximum number inside an array which involves comparing two numbers and setting up a variable that holds the maximum number by iterating every number in the sub-array like this:

const list = [5,3,10,1]
let maxNumber = Number.NEGATIVE_INFINITY

for (let number of list) {
  if (number > maxNumber) {
    maxNumber = number
  }
}

console.log(maxNumber)
//!> 10

Or make it a bit more concise: